Community Heroes Acclaimed

Police Awards

Police honoured at Carnival City-Afrisun Trust’s SAPs 2011 Merit Awards
Special award for policemen who arrested the Facebook Rapist

Among the SAPs personnel honoured at the Carnival City and Afrisun Trust’s 2011 SAPs Awards dinner on Tuesday 27 March was the late Constable Bongani Dhlamini who, together with Seargeant Maurice Moloi, was instrumental in the capture of the notorious Facebook rapist.

Representatives from each Ekurhuleni police station packed the Carnival City Big Top Arena to enthusiastically applaud each nominee and the winners were invited up onto the stage to collect their awards from the trustees of the Afrisun Trust.

The four nominees in each of the nine contested categories included permanent SAPS members, civilians, reservists, volunteers and community police forum members from throughout the Ekurhuleni district. The Awards attracted 170 entries this year.

Constable Dhlamini and Sergeant Moloi from Brackendowns SAPs were both nominated for Top Cop for the role they played in apprehending the man dubbed the Facebook rapist.  He taunted police for months before he was finally arrested in Alberton in October last year.  He is currently in prison on several charges of kidnap and rape and one of murder.  Constable Dhlamini sadly passed away on the 5th March, however his memory was honoured with a special merit award presented to him posthumously. Sergeant Moloi was similarly awarded.

Best Visible Police Member and Top Cop

The award for Best Visible Police Member as well as Top Cop went to Constable FULL NAME Pillay from the North East Rand Dog Unit.  Constable Pillay’s zealous and determined efforts to rid the area of the scourge of drugs and drug dealers earned him this honour.  During 2011 he variously assisted would-be suicide victims, closed down illegal shebeens and taverns, apprehended shoplifters and murders, solved four cases of cable theft amounting to over R30 000 and arrested a number of drug dealers in possession of cat, rock, dagga and cocaine.

Best reservist Actonville Cst A.M. Latif

Actonville Constable NAME Latif was named the Best Reservist for outstanding work in the community and for his involvement in the arrest of criminals for TRI CRIMES, murder, ATM-bombings and police killings.  Together with his team he successfully tracked down a murder suspect to Ladysmith where he was apprehended in connection with the murder of a local 16-year old boy. Latif also tracked down and arrested the suspect who shot and killed his partner, recovering the firearm too.

Best Volunteer

Oupla Thobejane from Vosloorus was named Best Volunteer. He has actively encouraged people to join local community patrols, assisted in 63 arrests covering common assault, armed robbery, drug dealing, domestic violence and rape. He helped to place 11 abused women in places of safety, even using his own home for this purpose.  He also initiated a Stop Xenophobia Group.

Best Community Police Forum

Mr Selvan Naidoo, Chairperson of the Actonville-Wattville Community Police Forum accepted the Best Community Police Forum Award on behalf of them.  Since being set up, SAPs has noted a dramatic drop in crime in the area and the Forum has been commended for its hard work, good organisation and dedication to the task.  And the proof lies in the positive feedback received from the community.

 Best Crime and or Communication Member

Captain NAME Maome from Primrose was named Best Crime and/or Communication Member. He started a relief program to help victims of fires after their shacks are burnt down, built up relationships with stakeholders who assist with feeding and building materials whenever a natural  disaster occurs and oversees the delivery of food parcels and blankets for all the victims, young and old. Toys and clothes for the less fortunate children are also distributed in the settlements. The Captain was particularly applauded for his engagement with communities and the time and effort he puts into teaching youngsters about the dangers of drugs and other social crimes and working closely with the patrollers in this regard.

Best Detective

Detective Warrant Office NAME Seema from Boksburg North walked off with the Award for Best Detective.  This year his convictions include robbery, rape, murder and fraud.  He relieved the residents of Impala Park from criminals, who terrorised them at night, he recovered stolen goods, and apprehended the suspects in the fatal shooting of a motorist at a local petrol station where he was filling up with fuel.  The suspects are currently on trial.

Best Support Service Member and/or Civilian

Brakpan Administration Clerk Shaun Hansen received the Award for Best Support Service Member and/or Civilian.  In addition to performing his own duties diligently, Hansen has unselfishly given up his own time to give members of the team computer training and is always available to assist with the computers or scanner.  He does all this after hours, over weekends and on public holidays. He has also conducted one-on-one sessions with staff members to build morale and identify challenges they’re having.

Best Team – Tembisa Detectives – Five members

And for dedication to duty, five detectives from Tembisa were named the Best Team.  Working closely with informants, and despite having just finished a long shift, the team were tipped off about a high-jacking syndicate.  They immediately returned to work and with meticulous planning briefed back up and secured the area, blocking off all escape routes.  After observing the area in plain clothes they waited until they had arrested five heavily armed suspects who exchanged fire until they were overpowered.  The suspects, all from Limpopo, are currently in court on charges of robbery, stolen fire arms and high-jacking.

Entertainment – lead singer of La Vuvuzela, Tarryn Lamb and Hip hop artist “Skillz” with the main event P J Powers

Entertainment at the Award evening was provided by songstress Tarryn Lamb, lead singer of La Vuvuzela, popular hip hop performer ‘Skillz’ and Penelope Jane Dunlop, better known to her legion of fans as the legendary PJ Powers.

The Afrisun Trustees were thanked for making the Awards possible and for arranging an evening packed with entertainment.


  • Carnival City – venue
  • Fedics – food
  • Fame Artists Management – entertainers
  • LeChic – Table arrangements
  • Funky Functions – Goody Bags and décor

Nominees for 2011

 Best Visible Police Member:

  • Brakpan Lt./Col K E Masethla
  • Brackendowns Serg M K Moloi
  • Brackendowns Cst B M Dhlamini
  • North East Rand Dog Unit Cst J PIllay

 Best Reservist

  • Actonville R/Cst A M Latif
  • Tsakane R/Cst C N Dyonase
  • Tsakane R/Cst Radebe
  • Brakpan R/Cst Mokyane

 Best Volunteer

  • Duduza  N.R. Shimbambo
  • Tsakane E.B. Nkosi
  • Brakpan M.N. Tsoari
  • Vosloorus O. Tobejane

 Best Community Police Forum

  • Actonville-Wattville CPF
  • Tsakane CPF
  • Boksburg North CPF
  • Benoni CPF

Best Crime/Communication Member

  • Brakpan Captain J Joubert
  • Tsakane Capt P.B. Mabuza
  • Brakpan Cst N.F. Ntuli
  • Primrose Cst S. Moame

 Best Detective

  • Boksburg North W/O S.W. Dippenaar
  • Boksburg North W/O M.J. Seema
  • Boksburg North W/O V.J. Tlemo
  • FCS Katlehong W/O O. Maedi

Best support member or civilian

  • Actonville Data typist L.M. Thabethe
  • Brackendowns A/C S. Hansen
  • Kwa Thema Capt. L.M. Droskie
  • Dawn Park Capt J. H. Sithole

Best Team

  • Boksburg North W/O Fourie and W/O Malinga
  • Tembisa Detectives (5 members)
  • Katlehong  Field Police (4 members)
  • Duduza Detective team (26 members)

Top Cop 2012

  • North East Rand Dog Unit Cst J PIllay